28th August - 6th September

Worcester, England

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Youtube
  • Youtube

About The Event

All of the information you need to know about the event can be found here.


The European Wheelchair Basketball Championship is the main wheelchair basketball competition contested biennially by national teams governed by IWBF Europe, the European zone within the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation. Organised by British Wheelchair Basketball in partnership with IWBF Europe and the University of Worcester, and supported by the UK National Lottery, the Championships are part of UK Sport’s Gold Event Series.  

The European Championship is also a qualifying tournament for the IWBF Wheelchair Basketball World Championships and the Paralympic Games in Rio in 2016. From this 2015 event in Worcester, just five men's teams and four women's teams will qualify for Brazil.

The 2013 competition was held in Frankfurt, Germany. The men’s Championship was won by Great Britain, and the women’s by The Netherlands.



The International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) was founded in 1973, and since 1993 has been the independent world governing body for wheelchair basketball. It currently has 4 geographic Zones; the Americas, Africa/Arab; Oceania/Asian and Europe. More than 70 countries throughout the world are active in wheelchair basketball at international level.

IWBF Europe, on behalf of IWBF, promotes, supervises and directs the sport of wheelchair basketball within its zone, strictly recognising the autonomy of each NOWB within its own territory, while following the policies of IWBF as established by the World Congress and the IWBF Executive Council.