28th August - 6th September

Worcester, England

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Youtube
  • Youtube

Game 33: Poland prove too strong for Czech Republic

With Poland starting the game without top scorer Mateusz Filipski, early exchanges between the two teams were competetive with the Czech Republic utilising the height of centers Petr Tucek and Ondrej Pliska in the key. But with Filipski soon entering the match, Poland quickly established control and had gained 23-15 lead by the end of the first quarter.

A growing eagerness to score by the Czech team was capitalised upon by Poland through the second quarter, who scored frequently with breakaway counter attacks. Arriving quickly in the key, Poland proved efficient in moving the ball quickly to find space to shoot. But with Poland leaking points in defence, the Czech Republic were able to keep the deficit to just 13 points by half time and a 42-29 scoreline.

With two close defeats of the tournament no doubt in mind, Poland’s top rebounder and assister Piotr Luszynski entered the game at the start of the second half following stirring words and tactical adjustments during the break. Exiting the game after playing through the third quarter, Luszynski helped develop Poland’s lead to a score of 66-48, contributing four points, three rebounds and six assists.

Although the Czech Republic continued to press for points, they were unable to slow the Poland team down led by match MVP award winner Dominik Mosler, who totalled 27 points and six rebounds through the game. With a final score of 85-58 to Poland, top scorers were Mosler, Krzysztof Bandura and Mateusz Filipski for the winners with 27, 19 and 10 points respectively.

Unable to secure a victory for their team through the tournament’s group stages, top scorers for the Czech Republic were Petre Tucek, Miroslav Sperk and Rostislav Pohlmann with 25, eight and six points respectively.


Top scorers


  1. Dominik Mosler (27); 2. Krzysztof Bandura (19); 3. Mateusz Filipski (10)

Czech Republic

  1. Petre Tucek (25); 2. Miroslav Sperk (8); 3. Rostislav Pohlmann (6)


MVP: Dominik Mosler (Poland)