28th August - 6th September

Worcester, England

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Youtube
  • Youtube

Wheelchair Basketball Club Awards Launched

  • Wheelchair basketball clubs and volunteers to receive recognition for their contribution to the sport
  • Presented at a celebration dinner as part of the Annual British Wheelchair Basketball Club Conference
  • The awards form part of the European Wheelchair Basketball Championships at University of Worcester Arena

British Wheelchair Basketball will tonight launch their very first awards ceremony in recognition of outstanding achievement across the voluntary club sector.

Seven award categories have been announced with an emphasis on those with a strong volunteer base and positive engagement with young people.

The celebration dinner will be held as part of the Annual British Wheelchair Basketball National Conference on Saturday August 29th and take place at the European Wheelchair Basketball Championships being held at the University of Worcester Arena.

The awards are sponsored by the Richard Langhorn Trust, established in 1994 in memory of the Harlequins Player who tragically died aged 29 years old.

Charlie Bethel, CEO of British Wheelchair Basketball said:

“We have witnessed tremendous growth across our clubs since the Paralympics in 2012. They are the backbone of the sport and we felt that it was the right time to celebrate great achievement across our sport as well as sharing best practice.”


The awards shortlist include:


Junior of the year

Macauley Tomlinson (Swindon Shock)

Gregg Warburton (Owls)

David Bautista (Brixton Ballers)


Young Volunteer

Frankie Jones (Mid Wales Meteors)

Fran Smith (Caernarfon Celts)


Volunteer of the Year

Ben Humphrey (Swindon Shock)

Rukiyah Khatun (Brixton Ballers)


Development Coach

Thomas Seaborne (Cardiff Celts)

Tina Gordon


Official of the Year

Rebecca Orleans


Digital Innovators of the Year

Thames Valley Kings & Cardiff Celts


Club of the year

RGK Tees Valley Titans

Bristol Bisons

Exeter Otters


Service to Wheelchair Basketball

Steve Spilka (Hereward Heat)

Jason Kennedy (Knights)

Paul Bounden (Exeter Otters)

Austin Kentebe (Brixton Ballers)